UBahn – Nuremberg subway

Today’s subway system contains about 37 km’s of lines and 46 stations. There are three lines:

Nuremberg Ubahn

Nuremberg Ubahn

U1 Hardhöhe Fürth - Fürth Hbf - Plärrer - Lorenzkirche - Hauptbahnhof - Messe - Langwasser Süd

U2 Röthenbach - Plärrer - Opernhaus - Hauptbahnhof - Herrnhütte - Ziegelstein - Flughafen

U3 Gustav-Adolf-Straße - Plärrer - Opernhaus - Hauptbahnhof - Maxfeld - Friedrich-Ebert-Platz

There are also two support lines, which are serviced on busiest parts of proper lines:

U11 Eberhardshof - Hauptbahnhof – Messe

U21 Röthenbach - Plärrer - Opernhaus - Hauptbahnhof - Herrnhütte – Ziegelstein.


Open every day between a few minutes before 5 a.m. and short before 1 a.m.

Map of Nuremberg Ubahn Network

Map of Nuremberg Ubahn Network




History of Nuremberg subway system


The work on Nuremberg Ubahn beggan on March 20th, 1967. The first, 3,7 km’s long line of U1 was opened on March 1st, 1972. The first stretch of U2 was given into service on January 28th, 1984. As the years went by, Nuremberg subway system has grown to its today’s size of almost 37 km’s and 46 stations. On many places old tram lines were removed by faster and more comfortable subway. These abandoned tram lines are still visible today, because removed was everything except tracks. With today’s UBahn you get everywhere in the city, including the Airport, Messe (Trade fairs) and even Nuremberg’s suburb Fürth.

Driverless trains


Nuremberg was the first city in Germany to have complete driverless trains and was to be the first in the world to operate manually driven and automatic service trains over the same tracks. Project was developed in 1997, but was delayed by two years mainly relating to the automatic train control system. Germany’s first automatic metro line was opened in June 2008 and today is operated on lines U2 and U3.